Who can be an Au Pair?

IMPORTANT BREXIT NEWS: There is currently NO confirmed visa/route for EU au pairs from 2021. 

The general message from the Home Office can be seen below (to  directly quote MP Kevin Foster, Minister for Future Borders and Immigration):
“I understand many au pairs have come from within the European Union, yet from 1 January 2021, free movement will end, resulting in EEA and non-EEA citizens being treated equally. However, EU citizens who arrive prior to 31 December 2020, will be eligible to apply for this Government’s European Union Settlement Scheme. As has been the case since 2008, the UK’s points-based immigration system will not offer a dedicated route for au pairs and one will not be created as part of the new system being introduced on 1st January 2021. It is not legal for au pairs or their prospective employers to abuse the visitor’s route in the way suggested as they receive renumeration in exchange for their childcare services. Anyone behaving in this manner could find themselves subject to law enforcement action, yet there are other immigration routes which may exist for people who may wish to take up these roles.”

As confirmed in the above letter from the Home Office – if you are an au pair already in the UK in 2020 – you can apply a pre-settled status if you wish to continue your placement in 2021.

You can only apply for the pre-settled status if you have arrived in the UK on/prior to the 31st of December 2020.


EEA citizens – EU Europe

If you have a passport from an EEA country, i.e. European Economic Area (EEA) citizens – the 25 EU countries plus Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway – and Swiss nationals have the right of free movement and residence in the UK (source Home Office). This means you can be Au Pair without any restrictions on age, pocket money, duration of stay etc. For more information visit www.gov.uk/government/organisations/uk-visas-and-immigration


  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Bulgaria
  • Croatia (possibly some restrictions; BAPAA is still awaiting clarification as to what is required.)\
  • Cyprus
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • Ireland
  • Italy
  • Latvia
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malta
  • Netherlands
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Romania
  • Slovak Republic
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • United Kingdom
  • Iceland*
  • Liechtenstein *
  • Norway *
  • Switzerland **

* These countries are in the EEA, but are not members of the European Union
** Switzerland is not in the EEA but an international treaty means that Swiss nationals have a similar right to live in the UK as EEA nationals.

Nationals of Croatia

There may be some restrictions. BAPAA is still awaiting clarification as to what is required.

Other Worldwide – with the introduction of Tier 5* Youth Mobility Scheme

The UK Au Pair scheme now comes under Tier 5 Youth Mobility Scheme and only nationals from the following countries are eligible to apply for visas under the scheme:

  • Australia
  • New Zealand
  • Canada
  • Japan
  • Monaco
  • Taiwan
  • Republic of Korea
  • Hong Kong


Please see the Tier 5 information on the UK government website –

Agency Directory